Louisville Metro Council votes no confidence in jail director Clark

Louisville Metro Council votes no confidence in jail director Clark

LOUISVILLE, Ky. — Louisville Metro Council members voted Thursday to approve a “no confidence” resolution in Metro Corrections Director Dwayne Clark, following the deaths of six people since November who were in jail custody and ongoing staffing concerns.

The resolution calls on Mayor Greg Fischer to replace Clark and his executive staff, saying in part that Clark has “repeatedly failed to aggressively address contraband being smuggled into Metro Corrections.”

“Director Clark and his executive staff have allowed the moral of the officers under their watch to deteriorate to dangerous levels through unprofessional leadership practices,” said the resolution, which is symbolic as council members cannot fire Clark.

The legislative body voted 18-6 to approve the resolution, with the “no” votes coming from Democrats.

Louisville Metro Corrections Director Dwayne Clark addresses the 2022 class of corrections officers as they are sworn in at Metro Hall. Feb. 9, 2022

Metro Councilman Robin Engel, R-22nd District, had an excused absence Thursday. Metro Councilwoman Jessica Green, D-1st, did not receive a vote as members honored her as she officially left to become a Jefferson Circuit Court judge.

Metro Council President David James, D-6th, Metro Councilwoman Amy Holton Stewart, D-25th, and Metro Councilwoman Mark Fox, D-13th, introduced the resolution in early February, with Metro Councilman Anthony Piagentini, R-19th, later signing on as a sponsor as well.

Ferne Dekker

Learn More →